Tags

, ,

elmhurst

The practicum is about experience with new people in a new environment.  For me, that would be a public library.  I actually experience a library five days a week.  I currently work at an academic library,  the Elmhurst College A.C. Buehler Library.  I am a Catalog Assistant.  This means I enter the incoming books, videos, and all sorts of electronic materials into the catalog.  I also update periodical and serial records.  Since starting graduate school, I have also enjoyed more hours at the reference desk.  Last year the college started gaming nights, and since I am a gamer, I became a consultant/coordinator for our gaming extravaganza.  It is once again the start of a new year here.  There are students moving in and exploring the campus.  This means new patrons for the library.

