Tags

, , ,

cards2 The practicum is about experience.  I know a little about what is suppose to happen based on the experience I have with practicum students Elmhurst College hosts.  Being the full time catalog assistant, when the student goes to the different departments of the library, they come to me for a quick glimpse at cataloging.  Next week in fact, I will be showing the Voyager system to the visiting Dominican student.  I myself, have started the shuffle at my practicum.  Yesterday I spent time with Jami Simmons, the Head of  the Technical Services Department at the Glen Ellyn Public Library.  She showed me around the department and explained the positions and functions of the people who work there.  It was very interesting to compare the workings of a public library to that of an academic library.  The work is basically the same just the method and flow is different.  For instance we use  Voyager as our Integrated Library System, while Glen Ellyn uses SirsiDynix Integrated Library System.  I will spend a little time learning this system, then I will move on to youth services, circulation, adult service, and even the business department.

